New Accretionary Wedge: Inspiration

I will be hosting the next Accretionary Wedge carnival right here at the Magmalicious Blog! I’m very excited.

volcano2

A rather inspiring field trip, though not the one that sucked me in.

I once had a conversation with our provost about how almost no one goes to college planning to study geology. (The exceptions always seem to be children or other close relations of geoscientists.) For the rest of us, a general lack of exposure before college seems to keep it off most of our radars as a career option, and then somehow, sooner or later, we fall into a great class or a fun research project or an exciting field trip, and we get sucked in. That means taking up geology is very often a switch from another planned career track. I think that’s a pretty interesting aspect of geoscience — the stories that got us here are so varied, and people come to it with such passion.

So July’s topic is about your inspiration to enter geoscience. Was it a fantastic mentor? Watching your geologist parents growing up? A great teacher, or an exciting intro field trip? How did it happen? Deadline of July 10, and leave your permalink in comments when your post is up!

22 Responses

  1. This is a great theme … the very first Wedge (Sept 2007) had some similar stories, but I think it’s a great idea to revisit it and hear other perspectives. I missed that last Wedge, but will try and make this one.

  2. […] for posts: July Accretionary Wedge By shearsensibility The call for posts for the July Accretionary Wedge, hosted by volcanista’s Magmalicious Blog, is up! So July’s topic is about your […]

  3. […] 20 Jun 2009 07:44 AM PDT The call for posts for the July Accretionary Wedge, hosted by volcanista’s Magmalicious Blog, is up! So July’s topic is about your […]

  4. […] Accretionary Wedge for July is up, and it asks the following: “So July’s topic is about your inspiration to enter […]

  5. […] Wedge #18: Inspired Volcanista is hosting July’s Accretionary Wedge on what inspired one to become a geologist. For me, the reason is simple, if somewhat convoluted. I […]

  6. My wedge post is up – how I got into geology (because I can’t sing!).

  7. Yay! Can’t wait to read it! (When it goes up I’ll add my own tale of iniquity and woe to the comments then.)

  8. Good point for discussion, my offering is here http://karmasotra.blogspot.com/2009/06/inspired.html
    I have a slightly different perspective to you, I didn’t drift in at Uni or have parents who were already in the business. I came to it from a love of the outdoors and a perception of the lifestyle that studying rocks could give me…

    BTW mine is not a geo-blog, I am just a geologist who blogs. All things vaguely geo-related can be found under the topic creatively called “geology” on the LHS

  9. Here’s my contribution:

    http://throughthesandglass.typepad.com/through_the_sandglass/2009/07/inspiration—the-beginnings-of-a-geologist.html

    I look forward to evryone’s views on an important topic!

  10. Here’s mine:

    http://highway8a.blogspot.com/2009/07/accretionary-wedge-18-how-did-i-become.html

    The short, slightly longer, and begiing of a long version!

  11. I’m suprised that with all my navel-gazing, I haven’t discussed this before, but here it is…
    http://shortgeologist.blogspot.com/2009/07/accretionary-wedge-inspiration.html

  12. Here is my addition to the topic. http://jazinator.blogspot.com/2009/07/accretionary-wedge-18-my-geological.html

    Thanks for hosting. I look forward to the fun next month.

  13. Hah–despite being in the process of moving from Australia to Europe to start my first post-doc position, I get to play with this one–my first ever blog post was on this topic:

    http://a-life-long-scholar.blogspot.com/2008/08/how-i-became-geologist.html

  14. […] Comments volcanista on w00tJudith Connor on w00tannejefferson on New Accretionary Wedge: I…What Should You GoSe… on Mirror, mirrorA life-long scholar on New Accretionary […]

  15. […] Comments Garry Hayes (Geotrip… on New Accretionary Wedge: I…Jim Repka on New Accretionary Wedge: I…lockwooddewitt on ReminderTuff Cookie on New […]

  16. […] Comments My inspiration … on New Accretionary Wedge: I…Garry Hayes (Geotrip… on New Accretionary Wedge: I…Jim Repka on New Accretionary […]

Comments are closed.